Music – The Language of My Soul

Some of you may have heard me say this, but for those of you who have not,  I believe that music is the language of my soul.  It may not be for everyone, but it definitely is for me.  It seems that music has always been the most natural way for me to express joy, sorrow,  to be able to release pain and anguish, and to pray and offer worship. Music touches the heart and soul of mankind, and that it is why it is so prevalent in our worship services.

Since I’ve never been quite coordinated enough to become proficient at playing an instrument, but since I’ve always had a voice, I sing.  Even as a little girl, I sang whatever music I’d been exposed to, whether by myself or at less appropriate times. “Don’t sing at the table” was a frequent admonishment I received when our family gathered for dinner.  I control myself better now when surrounded by people, but for heaven’s sake, never ask me to sing unless your really want me to do so.  Our choir is permanently stuck with me, ever since I was invited to join.

As I’ve progressed on my faith journey,  and learned more hymns and spiritual songs (never having had the gift to compose my own)  I’m often surprised at how phrases and melodies  come immediately to mind (and occasionally burst from me!) in a variety of situations.  I never visit the beach and walk along the sands but that I soon find myself at least humming “On Christ the solid rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand”.   My poor dog has often been serenaded along our morning walks with  “Morning Has Broken” or “My Lord What A Morning”. Almost all the scripture I know by heart, I know as set to music.

Recently though, (again on morning dog walks)  I have found myself thinking of a particular hymn—perhaps one sung at the last Sunday worship I attended, and have had the experience of devotionals composing themselves in my head, based on some aspect of the lyrics.  As devotional ideas always seem to me as though they are meant to be shared, I have sort of puzzled why the Spirit might inspire me with such when I have no real place to share them.    So it is that I have decided to make a change in my contribution to the newsletter from “Worship Whys” to these “Inspiring Notes”, so that I can share some of these promptings of the Spirit with my church family.

But it is also my hope that perhaps some of that church family will also have hymn “devotionals” that they will share.   Some of those may be just the reason they favor a particular hymn, or why it has special meaning to them. So please feel free to fill this space for me (and give me something to sing as a walk along!) by writing your own “Inspiring Notes”, and submitting them to the newsletter editor (a most accommodating man).  Or if you don’t feel that you have the time or inclination to write it down, call me up and tell me, and I’ll do my best to put your thoughts to paper.

It is a way of sharing our hearts with one another, as those who are brothers and sisters in Christ are want to do.

“Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly; teach and admonish one another in all wisdom; and with gratitude in your hearts sing psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs to God.” – Col 3:16

~ Susan Hendrix

This entry was posted in Inspiring Notes, Worship and tagged , , , by Susan Ozmore. Bookmark the permalink.

About Susan Ozmore

I'm a blogger, freelance writer, and former teacher. After 12 years in the telecommunications industry, I taught math and science. I have, however, always loved history! So now I am indulging by reading many great books and sharing what I learn. As Harry Truman said, "The only thing new is the history you don't know." Please comment, I would love to receive your feedback. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

