Welcome to Our New Pastor!

We are very fortunate to welcome Rev. Tracy Schumpert to Wingate and Smyrna. Here she shares a little about herself and her background. Welcome Tracy!

tracys-pictureI’m so thankful to be serving the Smyrna-Wingate Charge and sharing in ministry with the good folks of both congregations! I wanted to offer a short description of myself.  I’ve traveled most of my life as an Army dependent and as a United Methodist pastor. I’ve had the privilege to live in many different places including Heidelberg, Germany and meet wonderful groups of people through my travels.

After college, I attended the Perkins School of Theology in Dallas, TX, and in my last year went to Tulsa, OK to do an internship at Boston Avenue UMC. It was a fruitful experience! I’ve served over twenty years as the Senior Pastor of Oklahoma churches. This is my first two-point charge. I commonly went to churches who had never experienced a woman pastor, to build trust and enable them to welcome a woman pastor in the future. I’m so thankful to follow woman pastors in my current charge! What a blessing!

I also completed four units of Clinical Pastoral Education along the way. Clinical pastoral education (CPE) is education to teach pastoral care to clergy and others. CPE is the primary method of training hospital and hospice chaplains and spiritual care providers. CPE is both a multicultural and interfaith experience that uses real-life ministry encounters of students to improve the ministry and pastoral care provided by caregivers.

I stand in awe of the warm welcome I’ve already received being so far away from Oklahoma. I look forward to being an encouraging presence at both congregations! I am so pleased and grateful to be invited to the Western North Carolina Conference! I’m still a member of the Oklahoma Conference on borrow; however, I am ready to call North Carolina my home!

While enjoying many years of ministry in the church, I also felt God’s leading to pursue Chaplaincy. I’ve worked at Cancer Treatment Centers of America in Tulsa, OK over the last three and a half years.

Peace, Tracy

P.S. I have a Shichon doggy named Lucy who is a little over 1 year old. She’s graduated from beginning and intermediate training and my hope is that someday Lucy can pass the good citizen test and become a therapy dog who visits hospitals and nursing homes. She is a work in progress and a lover of all! She especially loves other dogs and playing!

This entry was posted in Pastor's Reflections by Susan Ozmore. Bookmark the permalink.

About Susan Ozmore

I'm a blogger, freelance writer, and former teacher. After 12 years in the telecommunications industry, I taught math and science. I have, however, always loved history! So now I am indulging by reading many great books and sharing what I learn. As Harry Truman said, "The only thing new is the history you don't know." Please comment, I would love to receive your feedback. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

